Honk for Jesus, Save Your Soul Premiere's at Sundance 2022 to Rave Reviews



Reporter: LaKisa Renee


Sister filmmakers Adamma and Adanne Ebo are taking on the mega-church culture with their Sundance film, Honk for Jesus, Save Your Soul. The film is a social satire on the culture of Southern mega-churches with stellar performances from Regina Hall and Sterling K Brown and was written and directed by Adamma Ebo and produced by Adanne Ebo (Twin sisters).

Cultured Focus Magazine had exclusive access to interview the twin sisters about their film. Journalist LaKisa Renee led the discussion which included insight into what led them to the subject matter, advice for other filmmakers, and what they hope audiences take away from the film. View the full interview below and do not forget to get your tickets to Sundance and check out

the next screening.




Follow the film and these talented ladies across social media platforms including Instagram @adamma.ebo & @adanne.ebo. The film was written and directed by Adamma Ebo, produced by Adanne Ebo, Daniel Kaluuya, Rowan Riley, Amandla Crichlow, Jesse Burgum, Matthew Cooper and Kara Durrett. Stellar performances from Regina Hall and Sterling K. Brown make it a breakout hit getting plenty of buzz.



Synopsis| Honk for Jesus, Save Your Soul

As the proud first lady of a Southern Baptist megachurch, Trinitie Childs carries immense responsibility on her shoulders. Her church, Wander To Greater Paths, once served a congregation in the tens of thousands, but after a scandal involving her husband, Pastor Lee-Curtis Childs, forced the church to close temporarily, Trinitie is struggling to manage the aftermath. Now Trinitie and Lee-Curtis must rebuild their congregation and reconcile their faith by all means necessary to make the biggest comeback that commodified religion has ever seen. Partially shot in faux-documentary style, this lively satire on for-profit religion explores both the on-camera desperation in image rebranding and the hard truths that fester behind the scenes.

Filmmaking power duo the Ebo Twins (writer-director Adamma Ebo, producer Adanne Ebo) make their feature film debut in this adaptation of their previous short film of the same name. The humor is big and biting in both writing and performance, reaching lofty heights with Regina Hall and Sterling K. Brown in lead roles.

Public Online Screening

Sunday, January 23rd at 10:45 AM PT / 11:45 AM MT / 1:45 PM ET

Tuesday, January 25th at 7:00 AM PT / 8:00 AM MT / 10:00 AM ET


Follow the talented duo across social platforms and learn more about their film at www.sundance.org